Single Market

28 European countries (27 after Brexit) have created, by way of a number of treaties, a customs union and common space for 4 freedoms:free movement of goods, people, capital and services – the European Union.

The area of free movements of goods is called the Single Market being established for regulated products by harmonised EU legal acts, mainly directives and regulations.

In the area of metrology, units of measurement and regulated products – measuring instruments and prepackages - fall under the scope of the EU legislation.  Measuring instruments are regulated by the so called new-approach directives MID (Measuring Instruments Directive – 10 categories ) and NAWID (Non-automatic Weighing Instruments Directive) .

See: EUR-Lex: Access to European Union law

Element 2 Logo-Footer